Canceled - portland gC tettelbach division & women's One Day Tournament presented by Chris Cote's Golf Shop

Hrenko-Sica Capture 83rd Connecticut Four-Ball Championship

Andrew Szandrocha (left) and Ryan Burrill (right) finished in second place.

Wallingford, Connecticut (August 24, 2023) – With a flawless 9-under 62 at Wallingford Country Club Anthony Hrenko and Christopher Sica have won the 83rd Connecticut Four-Ball Championship for a second time.

Playing on his home course Sica jump started the day with a chip-in birdie on No. 2 and then with the team at 2-under he made a clutch par putt on the par-4 seventh to keep the ball rolling forward. A birdie by Sica on No. 8 followed as they made the turn in 3-under 32.

Early on the back nine Hrenko came to life birdieing the 10th and 11th holes moving the duo to 5-under. Birdies by Sica on Nos. 14 and 15 and another by Hrenko on the short par-4 17th pushed them to 8-under and set up the dramatics on the final hole.

“Our games complement each other. Chris can rattle off three birdies in a row and I just keep us steady and get in for par which allows him to play a little more aggressively,” Anthony Hrenko said.

Final Results I Photo Gallery

Both players put their drives in play on the 417-yard par-4 18th hole and then found the green with their second shots setting up a pair of 25-foot birdie putts from the right of the hole. With two chances to put an exclamation point on their round it was Hrenko (Indian Hill CC) who made what proved to be the winning birdie. After the tandem gave the putt a lengthy look Hrenko struck it pure and drained the long-distance birdie putt.

“We are really excited to win the Four-Ball title again,” said Christopher Sica. “The first time it was awesome but this time it was really gratifying to back it up.”

Finishing one shot back in second place were Ryan Burrill (Rockledge CC)/Andrew Szandrocha (Indian Hill CC) at 8-under while Scott Cameron (New Haven CC)/Sam Spector (TPC River Highlands) finished 7-under to take third place.

Six teams shared fourth place at 6-under. The group included Tim Murphy (The Stanwich Club)/Jamie Sheltman (Wallingford CC), Patrick Prior/John Serafin both of Wallingford CC, Mike Kennedy (Tashua Knolls GC)/Nick Waddington (Manchester CC), 2021 winners Tim Bickford (Wallingford CC)/David Flint (Timberlin GC), defending champions Matt Fuller (Great Neck CC)/Brett Shulick (Great River GC), Cameron and Kyle St.Pierre out of Newtown CC.

About the Connecticut State Golf Association

The Connecticut Four-Ball Championship is one of 20 championships conducted by the Connecticut State Golf Association. The CSGA functions as an extension of the USGA and provides stewardship for amateur golf in Connecticut. Founded in 1899, it is the country’s oldest state golf association and conducts over 60 Championships, Qualifiers, and One Day Tournaments throughout the year.