25th Connecticut Women's Open - First Round play is underway - all tee times delayed by 70 minutes

Bradley S. Klein of Bloomfield, Conn. to Receive Donald Ross Award

Brad Klein (right) with Jack Nicklaus at Sebonack Golf Club in Southampton, N.Y. Photo Courtesy of Golfweek

BROOKFIELD, Wis. – Bradley S. Klein (Bloomfield, Connecticut), “Golfweek” magazine’s architecture editor, has been selected by the American Society of Golf Course Architects (ASGCA) as the 2015 Donald Ross Award recipient, the 40th winner since the award was introduced in 1976. The award will be presented in March 2015 during the 69th ASGCA Annual Meeting in La Jolla, California. The award is named for ASGCA’s first president, and is presented to an individual who has made a positive contribution to golf and golf course architecture.

A former PGA Tour caddie and 2006 inductee into the International Caddie Hall of Fame, Klein has written and lectured widely on golf course design, the golf development industry and sports media. The New York native joined “Golfweek” in 1988. 

Klein holds a Ph.D. in political science, spending 14 years as a university professor in international relations, political theory and media studies before devoting himself full time to golf writing. He has published seven books on golf course architecture and history, including “Discovering Donald Ross,” winner of the USGA 2001 International Book Award, and “Wide Open Fairways.” 


Klein joins an impressive list of journalists who have received the Ross Award, including Herbert Warren Wind, Peter Dobereiner, Charles Price, Dick Taylor, Ron Whitten, George Peper, and James Dodson.

“Brad has traveled the world studying and reporting on golf course architecture,” ASGCA President Lee Schmidt said. “His articles and books have informed golfers and non-golfers alike, telling the story of courses and those who design them.

“His critiques keep architecture in the public eye, and start conversations about how design contributes so much to the essence of the game. ASGCA respects his knowledge and perspective. We appreciate his skill in describing what we do and all that golf courses bring to our communities.”

Klein and his wife, Professor Jane Nadel-Klein, live in Bloomfield, Connecticut.

The Donald Ross Award is presented by the ASGCA Awards Committee, co-chaired by ASGCA Vice President Steve Smyers and 2013 Ross Award recipient Rees Jones, ASGCA. For more information on ASGCA, visit www.asgca.org, call (262) 786-5960 or e-mail info@asgca.org.  


Past Donald Ross Award Recipients  

2014    Maj. Dan Rooney, founder, Folds of Honor Foundation  

2013    Rees Jones, ASGCA, golf course architect  

2012    Bill Kubly, golf course builder 

2011    James Dodson, golf writer/editor

2010    Tim Finchem, PGA Tour Commissioner

2009    Ron Dodson, sustainable golf advocate

2008    George Peper, golf writer

2007    Dr. Michael Hurdzan, ASGCA, golf course architect

2006    Jim Awtrey, chief executive officer, PGA of America

2005    John Singleton, irrigation pioneer

2004    Thomas Cousins, philanthropist, urban golf developer     

2003    Bill Campbell, president, USGA, captain, Royal & Ancient Golf Club

2002    Byron Nelson, professional golfer

2001    Jack Nicklaus, ASGCA, professional golfer, golf course architect

2000    Jaime Ortiz-Patino, owner and president, Valderrama Golf Club

1999    Arnold Palmer, professional golfer

1998    Judy Bell, president, USGA

1997    Gene Sarazen, professional golfer

1996    Ron Whitten, golf writer

1995    Pete Dye, ASGCA, golf course architect

1994    James R. Watson, agronomist

1993    Brent Wadsworth, golf course builder

1992    Paul Fullmer, ASGCA executive secretary

1991    Michael Bonallack, secretary, Royal & Ancient Golf Club

1990    John Zoller, executive director, Northern California Golf Association

1989    Dick Taylor, editor, “Golf World” magazine

1988    Frank Hannigan, executive director, USGA

1987    Charles Price, writer, “Golf World” magazine

1986    Deane Beman, commissioner, PGA Tour

1985    Peter Dobereiner, “London Observer” columnist, author

1984    Dinah Shore, sponsor of women’s golf tournaments

1983    Al Radko, director, USGA Green Section

1982    Geoffrey Cornish, ASGCA, golf course architect, historian

1981    James Rhodes, governor of Ohio

1980    Gerald Micklem, captain, Royal & Ancient

1979    Joe Dey, executive director, USGA

1978    Herb and Joe Graffis, founders, National Golf Foundation

1977    Herbert Warren Wind, “The New Yorker” columnist, author

1976    Robert Trent Jones, ASGCA, ASGCA founding member

ASGCA Background 

Founded in 1946 by Donald Ross, Robert Trent Jones and 12 other leading architects, the American Society of Golf Course Architects is a non-profit organization comprised of experienced golf course designers located throughout the United States and Canada. Members have completed a rigorous two-year long application process that includes the peer review of four representative golf courses. ASGCA members are experienced golf course architects, able to counsel in all aspects of golf course design and remodeling and comprise many of the great talents throughout the golf industry.

For more information about ASGCA, including a current list of members, log on to the ASGCA website at http://www.asgca.org or call (262) 786-5960.