Canceled - portland gC tettelbach division & women's One Day Tournament presented by Chris Cote's Golf Shop

CSGA Governance

Twelve Connecticut golf clubs came together in 1899 to form the League of Connecticut Golf Clubs later to be known as the Connecticut State Golf Association.  The CSGA was formally organized as a non-profit corporation in 1984.  Active membership is composed on nine and eighteen-hole property owning golf clubs in the state.  Non-property golf clubs may join as Associate member clubs.  Representatives of member clubs meet once each year in regular session to receive reports, elect officers, and conduct other appropriate business.

The operations of the CSGA are administered by an Executive Committee composed of six elected officers and additional special advisors who may be appointed by the Executive Committee.  The work of the organization is conducted through a series of major committees including Competitions, Rules, Course Rating and Handicapping, Golf Hall of Fame, and Junior Golf.  A regional program supports the work of the Executive Committee through five geographic regions with Regional Vice Presidents and At-Large Representatives who coordinate the efforts of Club Representatives.  The Executive Committee employs an Executive Director and professional staff to administer and conduct day-to-day activities.  The CSGA boasts an extensive volunteer program that is integral to the conduct of golf competitions.

The CSGA also annually recognizes the Volunteer of the Year and the Walter ‘Bud’ Smith Distinguished Club of the Year

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of not fewer than thirty-five members and not more than fifty members and meets bi-annually.  The Board manages the property of the CSGA and reserves the right to make or amend the By-Laws of the CSGA.  Board membership is composed of the elective officers, special advisors, regional officers, past presidents, the executive director, and representatives of affiliated organizations.

Executive Committee

President William Wallace, Brooklawn CC
Vice President Ed Detmer, Madison CC
Vice President Bruce Kraczkowsky, Rockledge GC
Secretary Scott Newman, Wampanoag CC
Treasurer Bob Moriarty, CC of Fairfield
Special Advisor Judy Smith, Orange Hills CC
Special Advisor Jack Bracken, Hartford GC


Committee Chairs

Competitions Ed Detmer
Course Rating & Handicapping Mike Flis
Hall of Fame Ray Underwood
Junior Golf Chuck Claffey
Nominating Fred Fawcett 
Rules Fred Fawcett
Women’s Open Judy Smith

Special Assignments

Distinguished Club Award
Bruce Kraczkowsky 
Volunteer of the Year Ed Detmer
Players Council Bill Wallace
Past President’s Council Jim Healey
Women’s Open Judy Smith
First Tee of CT Delegate Mike Moraghan
Team Captain Roger Everin
Government Affairs Mike Moraghan
New England Golf Assoc. Members John Marion
Michael Moraghan
NEGA Junior Committee Chuck Claffey
NEGA Senior Committee Stan McFarland
NEGA Executive Committee Stan McFarland


Regional Vice Presidents

Region 1 – River Valley TBD
Region 2 – Mystic Country Don Sanders, Tallwood CC
Region 3 – Greater New Haven Owen Evans, Tashua Knolls GC
Region 4 – Litchfield Hills TBD
Region 5 – Fairfield County Ben Briggs, Silvermine GC

Regional At-Large Representatives

Region 1 – River Valley William Gallagher, Airways GC
Region 1 – River Valley Rob Josephson, Indian Hill CC
Region 2 – Mystic Country Steve Basson, Ellington Ridge CC
Region 2 – Mystic Country Bill Hermanson, Black Hall Club
Region 3 – Greater New Haven Peter Pappas, Laurel View GC
Region 3 – Greater New Haven Les Zimmerman, Hunter GC
Region 4 – Litchfield Hills Chuck Hansen, Richter Park GC
Region 4 – Litchfield Hills Todd Schaller, Torrington CC
Region 5 – Fairfield County Tony Hwang, H. Smith Richardson GC
Region 5 – Fairfield County Bob Jones, Silver Spring CC


Affiliated Members

CT Assoc. of Golf Course Superintendents Kevin Collins, Tradition Golf Club at Oak Lane
Conn. Women’s Golf Association Michelle Murphy, Stonington CC
Conn. Section PGA Bob Sparks, Torrington CC
Club Managers Association Steve Relevant, Rolling Hills CC
First Tee of Connecticut Mark Moriarty
Southern New England Women’s Golf Assoc. Mariel Albee, Hunter GC
Connecticut State Seniors Golf Association Michael Michigami, Hartford GC

Past Presidents

Name Course
Peter Bulkeley Fenwick GC
Robert W. Hopkins Woodway CC
Peter Kaufmann Woodway CC
Thomas W Lane Racebrook CC
John Marion Norwich GC
Stan McFarland Manchester CC
Willard “Bill” Starkie Wintonbury Hills GC
Carl Stockwell Grassy Hill CC
John J Walsh, Jr. New Haven CC
Jeff Witherwax Silo Point CC
Richard J Zanini Wethersfield CC
Jim Healey, Jr. Hartford GC
William Cremins CC of Waterbury


Ocie AdamsCC of Fairfield
John AylsworthUnaffiliated
Harry Cashin, IIIUnaffiliated
Sanford Cloud, Jr.CC of Farmington
Ron DrapeauWyndemere CC
Richard M DuffyWee Burn CC
Robert B Goode, Jr.Hartford GC
Arthur Harris, Jr.Shuttle Meadow CC
Edmund KeatingEllington Ridge CC
Del Kinney, Jr.Wyantenuck CC
Malcolm McLachlanSilo Point CC
Frank NardelliPinehurst CC
David SeamanNew Haven CC
Richard SiderowfUnaffiliated
David P SzewczulTPC River Highlands
W W WhedonCC of Farmington