Canceled - portland gC tettelbach division & women's One Day Tournament presented by Chris Cote's Golf Shop

Connecticut Mid-Amateur Returns to Hop Meadow

The 2014 Connecticut Mid-Amateur will mark the forth Mid-Amateur hosted at Hop Meadow Country Club. The club last hosted this championship in 2012, where Brian Ahern of Wampanoag Country Club defeated 2012 Player of the Year and Senior Player of the Year Dave Szewczul of Tunxis Plantation on the second playoff hole.

PAR AND YARDAGE: Hop Meadow Countryu Club will be set up at 6,513 yards and will play to a par of 36-36–72.

COURSE: Hop Meadow Country Club was established in 1961, with the championship course designed by Geoffrey Cornish. The club has previously hosted the Mid-Amateur three times (1999, 2005 and 2012), the Russell C. Palmer Cup twice (2009 and 2011) and the Connecticut Amateur once (1995).

HISTORY: The Connecticut Mid Amateur Championship was first held at Shennecossett Golf Course in 1988, where Daniel Hendrickson captured the championship on his home course. The Black Hall Club has hosted the most Mid-Amateur Championships with a total of  seven (1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994 and 2006). Bill Hermanson currently holds the record for most Mid-Amateur Championship titles with five. (1990, 1991, 1992, 1993 and 2001).

WHO CAN ENTER: The championship is open to any amateur golfer in Connecticut who will have reached their 25th birthday by August 20th, 2014, and who has a USGA Handicap Index not exceeding 6.4

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS: 54-hole stroke play championship. All players will play 18 holes on Tuesday, August 19th. The low 36 players including ties advance to rounds two and three on Wednesday, August 20th. The lowest 54 hole total will be declared the champion.  In the event of a tie, a hole-by-hole playoff will begin immediately following conclusion of all rounds.

2013 CHAMPION: Ben Hunter of Sterling Farms Country Club captured the 26th Connecticut Mid-Amateur Championship at Fairview Farm Golf Course in impressive fashion, shooting a final round 68 for a three-round total of 209 (-7) to win by three strokes over Philip Perry of Black Hall Club.