Canceled - portland gC tettelbach division & women's One Day Tournament presented by Chris Cote's Golf Shop

CSGA Announces 2015 Widdy Neale Scholarship Recipients

Links: 2015 Scholarship Class | Current Recipients | 2015 Donor Recognition

Contact: Richard Zanini, Managing Director.  Tel: 860-721-7700          

Contact: Michael Moraghan, Executive Director.  860-257-4171

In its sixty-second year the scholarship fund continues its tradition of increasing its total distribution each year.  For the 2015-16 academic year $102,000 is being awarded to forty-five young men and women who work at Connecticut golf clubs.  The average scholarship is now $2,250 per year with the largest awards of $4,000.  Recipients are eligible for the renewal of their scholarships each year for four years based on their college performance.  Since 1954, $2,936,200 has been awarded to 543 students.

 The officers of the CSGA Scholarship Fund thank the distinguished members of the Scholarship Selection Committee, Mr. David French from Ellington Ridge Country Club, Mr. Edward Silver from Race Brook Country Club, and Mr. William Wallace from Brooklawn Country Club, for their invaluable efforts in studying, interviewing, and evaluating scholarship candidates.  Young men women who have worked at CSGA member clubs for at least two years in positions serving golfers and/or the golf program are eligible to be nominated by their respective clubs.  Scholarship candidates who have been nominated by their clubs are evaluated on the basis of academic performance, financial need, participation in school activities, leadership roles, school and community service, and recommendations submitted by the golf club, school, and community representatives.  A personal interview with the Selection Committee is an essential part of the selection process.

 Major contributors to the Fund are the CSGA, the Connecticut State Seniors Golfer Association, the Bob Pryde Endowment, the Senior Golfers of Connecticut, the Junior-Senior Golfing Society of Connecticut, and the New England Senior Golfers Association.  An increasing number of Connecticut golf clubs provide direct or indirect support to the program including Airways, Fox Hopyard, Lyman Orchards, New Haven, Redding, River Oaks, Shorehaven, Tumble Brook, Wampanoag, Waterbury, and Wethersfield.

Recipients attend colleges and universities throughout the country including Endicott College, Simmons College, Union College, Manhattan College, Eckerd College, Villanova University, Fordham University, Union College, the University of Connecticut, Fairfield University, the College of William and Mary, Holy Cross College, Providence College, Elon University, University of North Carolina, West Virginia University, James Madison University, Penn State University, and St. Lawrence University.

2015 Widdy Neale Scholarship Recipients

Matthew Attolino
Orange, Conn.
James Madison University
Great River Golf Club

Michael Bodie
Brookfield, Conn.
Fairfield University
Connecticut Golf Club 
Ashley D’Attilio
Berlin, Conn.
Villanova University
Timberlin Golf Course 
Robert Essig
Norwalk, Conn.
Penn State University
Shorehaven Golf Club 
Rachael Graves
West Hartford, Conn.
Simmons College
Rockledge Golf Club 
Timothy Haan
Sharon, Conn.
St. Lawrence University
Sharon Country Club 
Owen Haffey
Norwalk, Conn.
Fordham University
Country Club of Darien 
Brendan Kaljulaid
Simsbury, Conn.
W. New England University
Simsbury Farms Golf Course 
Ryan Kirkpatrick
Hebron, Conn.
St. Michael’s College
Tallwood Country Club 
Patrick Lawson
South Windsor, Conn.
Plymouth State University
Ellington Ridge Country Club 
Dylan Olson
Bethel, Conn.
Eckerd College
Redding Country Club 
Peter Richards
Westport, Conn.
Villanova University
The Patterson Club 
Nicholas Sparks
Torrington, Conn.
Manhattan College
Fairview Farm Golf Course 
Sean Svab
Griswold, Conn.
Norwich University
Norwich Golf Course