Canceled - portland gC tettelbach division & women's One Day Tournament presented by Chris Cote's Golf Shop

The CSGA Recently Awarded Sixteen Scholarships to Employees at Connecticut Golf Clubs.

The CSGA recently awarded sixteen scholarships to employees at Connecticut golf clubs.  The scholarships are given in honor of its long-time Executive Director William “Widdy” Neale.  The program recognizes graduating high school seniors who work at CSGA member golf clubs in positions serving the golf program and/or serving golfers and who are enrolling in four-year colleges and universities.  Recipients are selected on the basis of financial need, scholarship, school and community service, and good character.  The Fund is supported primarily by a major financial commitment from the CSGA.  Other significant contributors include the Bob Pryde Endowment administered by The Community Foundation for New Haven, the Connecticut State Seniors Golf Association, the Senior Golfers of Connecticut, and the New England Senior Golfers’ Association.  Increasingly important are the contributions of individual golfers through the CSGA donors recognition program.  Since 1954, the program has awarded over $2.4 million in scholarship aid to over 500 graduating high school seniors.  Unlike many other scholarship programs, the CSGA scholarships are four-year awards.

CSGA Scholarship Fund Chairman Richard Zanini stated that this year’s recipients are all outstanding young people with excellent academic records who have been leaders in their schools and who have completed extensive community service.  He stated that their fields of interest for college study are diverse and include engineering, architecture, business administration, marketing, accounting, biology, psychology, environmental science, pre-law, and sports management.  Dr. Zanini indicated that the scholarship awards generally range from $1,000 to $2,500 and may be renewed for up to three years.

This year’s recipients are:

Thomas Antoniak Wethersfield Penn State University Wethersfield CC
Taylor Beck Old Saybrook Assumption College Old Lyme CC
William Blaney Vernon Eastern Connecticut State Elington Ridge CC
Janaya Bradley New Haven Regis College  New Haven CC
John Corcoran Darien Roger Williams University Woodway CC
Richard Dowling III Shelton Fairfield University Great River Golf Club
Andrew Fahle Suffield Lyndon State College Suffield CC
Bryan Fitzgerald Shelton Castleton State College Highland Golf Club
Russell Korolyshun New Haven University of Connecticut Mill River CC
Sarah Longwell Trumbull University of Connecticut Tashua Knolls GC
Eric Olson Harwinton Providence College Fairview Farm GC
Kristen Paesani Hebron University of Rhode Island Norwich Golf Course
Hailey Salito         Trumbull   University of South Carolina Richter Park GC
Mark Sassu   Bristol  Suffolk University Chippanee Golf Club
Cody Seaman East Granby Clemson University Copper Hill GC
Stephanie Winslow Farmington College of William & Mary Farmington Woods GC


Forty-nine Widdy Neale scholarship recipients currently attend colleges as diverse as Connecticut College, NYU, Penn State, College of Charleston, Coastal Carolina, Dickinson, Providence, Bentley, Bryant, Holy Cross, Wheaton, Boston College, Northeastern, St. Johns, George Washington, James Madison, Susquehanna, Cornell, St. Bonaventure, Wake Forest, Tufts, Tulane, William and Mary, and the Universities of Massachusetts, Arizona, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Connecticut.