25th Connecticut Women's Open - First Round play is underway - all tee times delayed by 70 minutes

22nd Connecticut Women’s Open Heads to Black Hall Club

(June 4, 2021) – Last year with players scheduled to travel from more than 15 states the Connecticut Women’s Open was canceled due to Covid-19 travel restrictions. The event was the only Connecticut State Golf Association event canceled because of the pandemic. One year later the tournament returns to the CSGA schedule and will head to the Black Hall Club from June 7-8th.

“We are super proud to be hosting the 22nd Connecticut Women’s Open,” Black Hall Club head professional Andrew Campbell said. “It is valued as the biggest women’s golf event in the state and we have always been supportive of women’s golf local and statewide.”

The field of 65 players from around the state, region, and country will be highlighted by among others four-time champion Liz Janangelo Caron, 2008 winner Lynn Valentine, and 2011 champion Jordan Lintz. Janangelo Caron, Valentine, and Lintz will be three of the 23 professionals in the field with the remainder of the field set to be filled by 45 amateurs. The amateur ranks include 2020 Connecticut Women’s Amateur champion Sophia Sarrazin, four-time Liz Janangelo Caron Women's Player of the Year winner Jen Holland, and 2020 Borck Junior Memorial winner Mia Scarpati.

“The course is a formidable test of golf and will demand strong shot-making and mental toughness from our field of top-tier women professionals, senior women professionals, and amateurs from around the country,” said Director of Women's Golf & Client Services Marsha Rupp. “We couldn't be more excited to welcome these talented professional and amateur players back to our Connecticut Women's Open after our hiatus last season. With players in their mid-teens to mid-sixties, collegiate and top amateurs mixed with veteran players and past champions, the multi-generational aspect of this event never disappoints to create a wonderful atmosphere for all the competitors.”

Designed by Robert Trent Jones the Black Hall Club will present a stiff challenge. “The conditions are going to be terrific,” said Campbell. “This time of year the course is going to play just as it should in terms of its design.” The 5,790 par-72 layout won’t present many birdie opportunities for the field and par will be the player's friend throughout the tournament.

“I think you need to get off to a good start on the first two holes of each side. Nos. 1 and 10 are two shorter par-4’s and 2 and 11 are par-5’s. Then after that 3 and 12 kind of punch you in the teeth,” Campbell said. Players have one more chance for a birdie on the par-5 14th before a finishing four-hole stretch that will test every aspect of a player's game. “I think you would stand on the 15th tee and sign up for four pars every time,” Campbell said of the demanding closing holes.

Play at the 22nd Connecticut Women’s Open will begin on Monday with the first group teeing off at 8:00 a.m. Click here for the first round tee times. There will be no cut ahead of Tuesday’s final round.

Notes on the Field:

Number of Players: 65

Past Champions: 3 – Liz Janangelo Caron (Four-times – 2003-2006), Lynn Valentine (2008), Jordan Lintz (2011)

Professionals: 23

Amateurs: 45

Youngest Players: Annie Dai and Charlotte Wagner (15)

Players to Watch:

Jean Bartholomew – In 1995 Bartholomew recorded a top-30 finish at the U.S. Women’s Open. Bartholomew has played 22 seasons on the LPGA Tour.

Liz Janangelo Caron – The four-time Connecticut Women’s Open winner will return this year looking for her fifth career title.

Alicia Dibos – From Greenwich, Connecticut Dibos recorded a fourth-place finish at the 1994 U.S. Women’s Open. Dibos was an LPGA Tour rookie in 1993 and made nearly one million dollars during her playing career.

Lisa Grimes – The Minnesota Golf Hall of Famer won the 2016 LPGA Professionals National Championship. Grimes has played in eight U.S. Women’s Open, finishing in the top-15 on one occasion. In 2004 Grimes won the first of her four Minnesota Women's State Open titles.

Jen Holland (a) – The best amateur player in Connecticut for a number of years Holland won her fourth consecutive Liz Janangelo Caron Women's Player of the Year last year.

Jordan Lintz – The winner of the Connecticut Women’s Open in 2011 played in the 2020 KPMG Women's PGA Championship. Lintz qualified for the LPGA Tour in 2005 with full-time playing status. After a banner career at the University of Wyoming Lintz was inducted into the Wyoming Athletics Hall of Fame.

Samantha Morrell – In 2020 Morrell qualified for the KPMG Women's PGA Championship. Morrell became the first Old Dominion golfer to play in an LPGA Tour event.

Sophia Sarrazin (a) – Last year Sarrazin was impressive on her way to winning the 2020 Connecticut Women’s Amateur. Sarrazin also added a victory at the AJGA Junior All-Star at Toftrees. The Westport resident has played in the Hartford Women’s Open twice earning a T3 finish (2018) and a third-place showing (2019).

Mia Scarpati (a) – Last year Scarpati claimed the Borck Junior Memorial and the Connecticut Junior PGA Championship.

Melissa Siviter – The former Georgia State golfer has played on the Symetra Tour most notably in 2016 when she competed in six events. Siviter most recently competed on the Symetra Tour in 2020.

Lynn Valentine – The 2008 champion finished second in 2012 to earn low professional honors. Valentine has played in two U.S. Women’s Open while also spending 10 years on the Futures Tour.

About the Connecticut State Golf Association

The Connecticut Women’s Open is one of 19 championships conducted by the Connecticut State Golf Association. The CSGA functions as an extension of the USGA and provides stewardship for amateur golf in Connecticut. Founded in 1899, it is the country’s oldest state golf association and conducts over 60 Championships, Qualifiers, and One Day Tournaments throughout the year. For more information, visit csgalinks.org.