25th Connecticut Women's Open - First Round play is underway - all tee times delayed by 70 minutes

Storylines and Facts from the 30th Public Links

On August 11th, one hundred thirteen of the top golfers from across the state will gather at Fairview Farm Golf Course for one of Connecticut’s most storied championships. The list of past champions includes the likes of Dave Szewczul, David Pastore, Kyle Gallo and Cody Paladino – all of whom have enjoyed success at the highest level of competitive golf. But unlike the Connecticut Amateur or Russell C. Palmer Cup, which attracts top players from both public and private clubs, the Connecticut Public Links features the very best of those who play their golf at public courses. The championship attracts every type of golfer; bus drivers, bartenders, firemen, waiters, riveters, engineers, and college professors to compete in a two-day stroke play championship.

Since its inception in 1986, the Public Links Championship honors the true spirit of public golf and is open to Connecticut amateur golfers who, since January 1st of the current year, have been bona fide public-course players, and who hold a USGA Handicap index not exceeding 9.0. The inaugural championship was played at Stanley Golf Course in New Britain, Conn. and won by Del Kinney, Jr. of Tunxis Plantation Country Club.

Player Storylines

Past Champions: There are two past Public Links champions in the field this week. They are:

Glen Boggini, Twin Hills Country Club – 2014 Champion
Dave Szewczul, Tunxis Plantation Country Club – 1992, 1993, 1995 and 2011 Champion

Last Year’s Champion: In 2014, Glen Boggini of Twin Hills Country Club broke through to win his first CSGA major championship in nearly twenty years of competition. Boggini shot rounds of 74-72–146 at the Golf Club at Oxford Greens to outlast Dave Szewczul and Josh Cameron by two shots. He will be returning to defend his title at Fairview Farm, and will look to become the first repeat champion since Joe Dennis won consecutive Public Links Championship’s in 2003 and 2004.

Four-time champion and 2012 CSGA Player of the Year Dave Szewczul will be hoping to use the Public Links Championship as a springboard for when he heads to the United States Amateur at Olympia Fields Country Club the following week. Szewczul earned his spot in the nation's most presigious amateur championship by qualifying at Shuttle Meadow Country Club with rounds of 71-70—141.

When Ben Hunter of Sterling Farms Golf Course stands on the 1st tee on Tuesday, he will no doubt be recalling some fond memories from 2013. Hunter captured his first CSGA major championship, the 26th Connecticut Mid-Amateur Championship at Fairview Farm, by three shots with rounds of 69-72-68 for a seven under-par total of 209.

Paul Schaeffer of Rockledge Country Club will be seeking to capture his second CSGA title in as many weeks, having recently won the 75th Four-Ball Championship at Yale with partner Michael Thompson. The pair combined for a bogey-free round of six under-par 64 and a one shot victory.

At fifteen years of age, Jack Campbell of Oak Hills Park Golf Course is the youngest player in this year’s field. Campbell shot a round of 75 to advance to match play at the 74th Connecticut Junior Amateur earlier this year.

Current CSGA President Stan McFarland of Manchester Country Club declared he will be competing in his final Public Links Championship. He is paired with CSGA staff member Christopher Austin of Middlesex Eclub in the first round, who will be competing in his first Public Links Championship.

A total of seven players will be representing the host club in the championship field. They are: Robert Dimattei , William Durante, Mike Levandowski, Jason Morse, Robert Rung, Bradley Scott, and Mike White.

About the Course:  The 30th Public Links will mark the second CSGA major championship hosted at Fairview Farm Golf Course, having previously hosted the Mid-Amateur Championship in 2013. Construction of the Fairview Farm Golf Course began in October, 1998, when owner Bob Ferrarotti purchased what had been a dairy farm from the Delay family. All eighteen holes of the championship layout was completed and opened for play in 2000.

Schedule of Events:

Tuesday, August 11th – First Round, 18 Holes Stroke Play
*The low 30 players including ties will advance to round two on Tuesday, October 1st.

Wednesday, August 12th – Second Round, 18 Holes Stroke Play

The lowest 36-hole total will be declared the champion. In the event of a tie, a hole-by-hole playoff will begin immediately following conclusion of all rounds.